Exchange – Disable & Enable Mailbox Features based on Organisation Unit


In Exchange you can have a number of mailbox features either enabled or disabled for each mailbox. These features include Outlook Web Access (OWA), POP3, IMAP and ActiveSync.

If you want to enable or disable all or any of these features on bulk or by Organisational Unit (OU) then you can use the following Exchange Management Shell PowerShell script to carry this out – just amend the script as you require it:

Get-CASMailbox -OrganizationalUnit $OU | Set-CASMailbox -OWAEnabled:$false -ActiveSyncEnabled:$false -PopEnabled:$false -MAPIEnabled:$false -IMAPEnabled:$false


  • $OU = The variable for the OU that you want to run this script on
  • -OWAEnabled:$false
  • -ActiveSyncEnabled:$false
  • -PopEnabled:$false
  • -MAPIEnabled:$false
  • -IMAPEnabled:$false

The above will disable the features, if you want to enable the features, simply change $false to $true

Then hit enter an run the script and it will change all the selected features on all mailboxes within the selected OU. You can also just select the features you want to enable or disable – you do not have to state all of the above.


If you have any questions or comments on this guide, please feel free to leave us a message below using our comments system.

Free Subscription!Subscribe to our site to receive updates via email!

Enter your email address below and click the Subscribe button to receive email notifications about new and exciting downloads available through our website at

You will also receive notifications about new technical guides, latest news and MSI installer downloads that are available through our blog here at 

We will not spam you and we will not pass on any of your details to anyone else. We tend to post new content once or twice a week.

Join 143 other subscribers

You can unsubscribe any time you like.

About A.J. Armstrong

Founder of TechyGeeksHome and Head Editor for over eight years! IT expert in multiple areas for over 20 years. Sharing experience and knowledge whenever possible! Making IT Happen.

View all posts by A.J. Armstrong

Leave us a message...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.